The Paradiso by Dante Alighieri

4/10

Sorry, Dante. But the week is going to have to end with your entirely disappointing final installment of The Divine Comedy.

There is none of the hilarity of The Inferno and little to none of the intriguing philosophy of The Purgatorio, and so The Pardiso is not half as much fun. Plus, we lose Virgil, who was by far my favorite addition to Dante’s tale. I mean, if you have to choose a favorite writer to lead you around hell and purgatory, might as well choose Virgil. (I would probably choose someone like Mark Twain, myself. That’d be fun. But I digress…).

Once last time, I trusted John Ciardi, who did an excellent job even if I wasn’t a huge fan of the material he had to work with.

image

AND WHAT ABOUT THE MOVIE? No movie. And that’s probably a good thing, because it would have been a chore for me to watch it.

We’ll get started again on Monday, with a classic ghost story from 1945!

Leave a Reply

