The Maze Runner by James Dashner

5/10

Unpopular opinion: this book wasn’t all that I was promised. Like, was almost painful to read at several points. In the interest of full disclosure, I did something I almost never do, and I saw the movie first. I enjoyed this movie. Then imagine my surprise when a friend loaned me the source novel (since the hold list was about 10,000 people long at the only library around that will give a hunk of cheese a library card) and … it sucked. The plot was only so-so compared to the excitement of the movie, and while I understand that it was aimed at young adult readers, the writing was too amateur for me to enjoy. Maybe if you’re a young teen you’ll have a better experience, but this well-aged dairy product wasn’t a fan.

It also doesn’t help that the amount of teen dystopian fiction increases every minute, so perhaps if I’d read this without having read Divergent, The Hunger Games, Uglies, The Giver, etc, I would have liked it more? I really wanted to like it!

image

AND WHAT ABOUT THE MOVIE? The movie is better. Yes, I know that that never happens, but go watch Dylan O’Brien act his ass off and then try and tell me that the book was worth the time it took to read it (8/10 in case you wondered).

(The sequel film was also great! I have not read the second book).

Leave a Reply

