The Inferno by Dante Alighieri

8/10

Strap in! My next couple of posts are going to be about The Divine Comedy, which tells the tale of Dante’s fictitious journey to heaven and divine love. The first of the trilogy is The Inferno, which chronicles Dante’s journey through hell.

My favorite part about the Divine Comedy as a whole, and The Inferno itself, is that it reads just like self-insert fan fiction.

I first read The Inferno in my freshman year of high school, and it was one of my favorites that we read that year, especially because Dante is throwing SO MUCH shade at his contemporaries.

But reading this again was also a delight! Maybe it’s the fact that Dante’s hell is so horrifically fun to read, but I enjoyed every page.

I will also say, however, that since I do not speak fluent Italian, the translator does a lot of the legwork for me to understand. The translation I used was by John Ciardi, and I wanted to give a shoutout because his version is just fabulous! The notes included help understanding immensely, since my knowledge about Florence in 1303 is also, sadly, lacking.

Stay tuned tomorrow for The Purgatorio!

image

AND WHAT ABOUT THE MOVIE? There IS a movie entitled The Inferno, but it’s based on Dan Brown’s book (which I’ve read and might someday review… we’ll see!). As for a Dante adaption, there isn’t yet a movie. But wouldn’t that be cool!

Leave a Reply

