Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith

3/10

I’ll say it right off the bat: I love Pride and Prejudice so much. SO MUCH. It’s a beautiful work, and when I first heard about the “updated” version by Seth Grahame-Smith I was revolted. Who dare bastardize my favorite author’s novel? But, I decided to be a good piece of cheese and put away my both pride and prejudice (literally had to put the book back on my shelf) and let the book try and overrule this first impression (anyone? anyone?).

HOWEVER. My worst fears were confirmed. This book was written by someone who didn’t like the original work, or at the very least by someone who didn’t get it. Instead of taking a good piece of fiction and making it a good piece of fiction but WITH ZOMBIES, Grahame-Smith turned it into a boring, gross, non-sensible piece of mass-market junk that is appealing only because of the title. I even tried to be open minded enough to read the prequel, but although it was interesting because it expanded the world of Austen’s characters, it was terribly hard to actually finish due to Grahame-Smith’s clunky prose.

AND WHAT ABOUT THE MOVIE? Lily James is a star, and the movie was well-handled. Not a huge fan of the movie’s Darcy, but not everyone can be Matthew MacFadyen or Colin Firth. 6/10 for me, and 9/10 according to my brother (although 8 of those points were for the inclusion of the zombies alone, so take that as you will).

Leave a Reply

